
This pamphlet is general in nature and is not designed to give legal advice.  The Court does not guarantee the legal sufficiency of this pamphlet or that it meets your specific
needs.  Also, as the law is constantly changing, the information in this pamphlet may not be current. Therefore, you may wish to seek the advice and assistance of an
attorney.

WHAT IS A PRETRIAL CONFERENCE?

A Pretrial Conference is a short hearing where the Judge informs the parties of the steps necessary to get ready for Trial. The Pretrial Conference is not a Trial.
The Court does not accept testimony or evidence.  Therefore, the parties do not have to bring Witnesses or Exhibits to the Pretrial Conference.

WHEN IS A PRETRIAL SCHEDULED?

Pretrial Conferences are not scheduled in every case.  However, when one is scheduled, it will be set after an Answer has been filed with the Court.

WHAT HAPPENS AT THE PRETRIAL?

During the Pretrial Conference, the Judge usually discusses rules that the parties must follow and sets deadlines for the exchange of information between the parties.

If a Jury Trial has been requested, then at the Pretrial Conference, the Judge also will discuss how and when a jury will be selected and when the parties will be
required to submit Jury Instructions. 

Jury Instructions are written instructions about the law in New Mexico that each party can request be given to the jury.  New Mexico has many pre-approved Jury
Instructions. (A copy of the New Mexico Uniform Jury Instructions can be obtained from the judicial website (www.nmcourts.gov) and most public libraries.)

WHEN WILL A TRIAL BE SCHEDULED?

A Notice of Hearing, setting the date and time of the Trial, either will be hand-delivered to the parties at the Pretrial Conference or mailed to the parties by the
Court.

WITNESSES

Each party must identify by name, address, telephone number and summary of expected testimony, any and all Witnesses that the party may call to testify at Trial.
Unless the Pretrial Scheduling Order entered by the judge sets different deadlines, the Plaintiff is required to file with the Court and give the other parties a Witness
List at least 20 days before the Trial.  The Defendant must file with the Court and give the other parties a Witness List at least 15 days before the Trial. 

A written statement from a Witness (including a police report or estimate of repair) is generally considered hearsay. Therefore, the Judge may not allow a party to use
the written statement as evidence, unless the individual who prepared the statement, report or estimate is present at Trial to testify in person.

  

It is the duty of the parties to make sure that each of their witnesses are at the trial.

http://www.nmcourts.gov/


If a Witness does not want to appear voluntarily at a hearing or Trial, the party may serve a Subpoena on the Witness. 

WHAT IS A SUBPOENA?

A Subpoena is an order by the Court for a Witness to appear at a hearing or Trial. A Subpoena Duces Tecum is an order by the Court for the Witness to bring
certain documents. Subpoenas may be signed by an attorney or can be obtained from the Clerk’s Office. To get a Subpoena Duces Tecum the Court Clerk must be
provided the name and address of the witness and a description of the requested documents. (See Discovery pamphlet.)

If a party Subpoenas a Witness, the party must also pay the Witness a $95.00 fee and a mileage fee.  If the fee is not paid, the Witness does not have to appear at the
Deposition, hearing or Trial.

EXHIBITS

Exhibits are any documents or objects that a party uses in support of claims and/or defenses.  Exhibits can include photographs, contracts, business or medical
records and/or any item that may be important in the lawsuit. 

The Plaintiff is required to file with the Court and give the other parties an Exhibit List at least 20 days before the Trial.  The Defendant must file with the Court
and give the other parties an Exhibit List at least 15 days before Trial.

At  Trial, a party using a document as an Exhibit must establish that the document is valid. As such, the original document and the individual who prepared the
document may be required.  During the Trial, each party must ask the Judge to accept each Exhibit as evidence before the Judge or Jury can consider the Exhibit.
 

EVIDENCE

Evidence can be anything that is helpful to the Judge or Jury in forming their decision.  Cases are decided based on the evidence presented to the Judge or Jury at the
time of Trial only.  Each party is responsible for providing evidence supporting their claims or defenses at the time of Trial. The most common forms of evidence are
Witnesses’ testimony, documents or any other items that are relevant to the lawsuit.  

Each party may agree or object to the evidence being presented by other parties.  If a party does not agree, he objects to the evidence.   When an objection is made, the
Judge will determine if the evidence can be considered based on the Rules of Evidence.  A copy of the Rules of Evidence may be obtained at the judicial website
(www.nmcourts.gov) or any public library.

WHO DECIDES THE CASE?

If a Jury is requested, then the Jury will decide the case. If a Jury is not requested, then the assigned Judge will make all of the decisions in the case. Either party may
request a Jury Trial; however, the Plaintiff must make the request when the Complaint is filed and the Defendant must request a jury trial when filing the Answer.
There are additional fees for a Jury Trial.  

WHAT HAPPENS AT TRIAL?

When you are at Court you should dress and behave in a manner that shows your respect for the Court and the Judge. You should only speak with the Judge’s
permission and should always stand when speaking to the Judge. At the beginning of the Trial, both parties usually have a chance to give an Opening Statement (a
summary or outline of the case and what each party hopes to prove at Trial) to the Judge or Jury. The Opening Statement is not evidence. 

After Opening Statements, the Plaintiff presents its case by calling Witnesses to testify and/or present Exhibits and by asking them questions. This is called Direct-
Examination. When the Plaintiff finishes its questions, the Defendant may ask the Witnesses questions. This is called Cross-Examination.  
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After all of Plaintiff’s Witnesses have testified, then the Defendant may call and question its own Witnesses and present its Exhibits. Then the Plaintiff can Cross-
examine the  Defendant’s Witnesses. After the  Defendant’s Witnesses have testified, the  Plaintiff has another chance to present  rebuttal evidence.  Rebuttal
evidence is given to explain or disprove any facts presented by the Defendant. 

When all parties have presented their evidence, the Judge may allow each party to make a Closing Argument. A Closing Argument is a chance for the parties to
summarize the facts and law established during the Trial and show the strengths and/or weaknesses in each other’s cases. After the Trial, the Judge or Jury will make
a decision. The Judge will provide the parties with a written decision called a Judgment, which states who won or lost and the amount of damages, attorney’s fees,
and/or court costs awarded, if any.

APPEAL JUDGMENT

If a party does not agree with the decision of the Judge or Jury, that party has the right to appeal the Judgment to the District Court.  (See Appeal Pamphlet for more
details.) 

CAN A COURT DATE BE CHANGED?

To change a court date, a party must file a Motion for Continuance with the Court before the scheduled hearing or Trial.  The judge will decide whether or not to
change the Court date.
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